I Mina Trentai Tres Na Liheslaturan Guåhan Resolutions Log Sheet

Resolution No.	Sponsor	Title	Date Intro	Date of Presentation	Date Referred	Committee / Ofc Referred	PUBLIC HEARING DATE	DATE COMMITTEE REPORT FILED	Date Adopted
	Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D	Relative to recognizing and commending the Guam Department of Education for its achievement in receiving the nation's first District-Level Accreditation awarded by the Accrediting Commission for Schools, Western Association of Schools and Colleges.	2:37 a.m.	02/18/16 1:00 p.m.					02/17/16

I MINA'TRENTAI TRES NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2016 (SECOND) Regular Session

Resolution No. 282-33 (COR)

Introduced by:

N. B. Underwood, Ph.D. Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D. <u>R. J. Respicio</u> T. C. Ada V. Anthony Ada FRANK B. AGUON, JR. Frank F. Blas, Jr. B. J.F. Cruz James V. Espaldon Brant T. McCreadie Tommy Morrison T. R. Muña Barnes Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr. Michael F.Q. San Nicolas Mary Camacho Torres

Relative to recognizing and commending the Guam Department of Education for its achievement in receiving the nation's first District-Level Accreditation awarded by the Accrediting Commission for Schools, Western Association of Schools and Colleges.

1BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I2MINA'TRENTAI TRES NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, the Accrediting Commission for Schools, Western Association of
Schools and Colleges (ACS WASC), a world-renowned accrediting association and

one of the six (6) accrediting agencies in the United States, works closely with the
 Office of Overseas Schools under the U.S. Department of State; and

WHEREAS, the ACS WASC provides assistance to schools worldwide,
primarily in California, Hawaii, Guam, Asia, the Pacific region, the Middle East,
Africa and Europe; and

6 WHEREAS, the ACS WASC philosophy centers upon three (3) beliefs: (1) a 7 school's goal is successful student learning; (2) each school has a clear purpose and 8 school-wide student goals; and (3) a school engages in external and internal 9 evaluations as part of continued school improvement to support student learning; and

WHEREAS, in 2014, the Guam Education Board approved the Guam
Department of Education (GDOE) State Strategic Plan, which is required in order for
GDOE to receive federal funding; and

WHEREAS, soon after the State Strategic Plan was approved, the GDOE began the process of piloting the district-level accreditation and became the first school district in the nation to go through the process; and

WHEREAS, the GDOE was visited by a team of committee members from the
 ACS WASC on November 15-18, 2015; and as a result, a self-study visiting
 committee report was issued; and

19 WHEREAS, on February 1, 2016, the ACS WASC issued a press release 20 announcing the unanimous decision to award the GDOE a six (6)-year accreditation 21 status, with a two (2)-day visit scheduled for 2019, along with the requirement to 22 submit annual reports from 2016 to 2018; and

WHEREAS, the ASC WASC team, as a matter of consideration for the award of district-level accreditation to the GDOE, observed the leadership of the Superintendent, Deputy Superintendents, Division Heads and the employees of the Central Office as a whole in order to ensure that the entire school system is focused on student success, and that all public schools are supported with the objectives of the
 State Strategic Plan; and

WHEREAS, twenty-five (25) of the forty-one (41) schools of the GDOE are currently WASC accredited, with the goal of having all forty-one (41) schools to be accredited by the year 2020; and

6 WHEREAS, the Guam Department of Education Superintendent, Mr. Jon 7 Fernandez, led the team that was instrumental in the success of the accreditation 8 process, which included, Ms. Erica Cruz, Deputy Superintendent for Educational 9 Support and Community Learning; Mr. Dexter Fullo, Principal of Benavente Middle 10 School; Ms. Rebecca Perez, Principal of Upi Elementary School; Ms. Freda Arii, 11 Assistant Principal of Tiyan High School; and Mr. Jim Reyes, Principal of Untalan 12 Middle School; now therefore, be it

13 **RESOLVED,** that the Committee on Rules of *I Mina'Trentai Tres Na* 14 *Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of 15 Guam, recognize and commend the Guam Department of Education for its 16 achievement in receiving the nation's first District-Level Accreditation awarded by the 17 Accrediting Commission for Schools, Western Association of Schools and College; 18 and be it further

19 **RESOLVED,** that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on Rules 20 certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of 21 the same be thereafter transmitted to Mr. Jon Fernandez, Superintendent of the Guam 22 Department of Education; to Ms. Erica Cruz, Deputy Superintendent for Educational 23 Support and Community Learning; to Mr. Dexter Fullo, Principal of Benavente 24 Middle School; to Dr. Rebecca Perez, Principal of Upi Elementary School; to Ms. 25 Freda Arii, Assistant Principal of Tiyan High School; to Mr. Jim Reyes, Principal of

- 1 Untalan Middle School; to the Guam Education Board; and to the Honorable Edward
- 2 J.B. Calvo, I Maga'låhen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I MINA'TRENTAI TRES NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE 17TH DAY OF FEBRUARY 2016.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D. Speaker

RORY J. RESPICIO Chairman, Committee on Rules

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES Legislative Secretary



COMMITTEE ON RULES

I Mina'trentai Tres na Libeslaturan Guában • 33RD Guam Legislature www.guamlegislature.com • 155 Hesler Place, Hagătña, Guam 96910 www.toryforguan.com • email: cor@guamlegislature.org • Tel: (671)472-7679 • Fax: (671)472-3547

COMMITTEE VOTING SHEET

Resolution No. 282-33 (COR) N. B. Underwood, Ph.D., and Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D. – "Relative to recognizing and commending the Guam Department of Education for its achievement in receiving the nation's first District-Level Accreditation awarded by the Accrediting Commission for Schools, Western Association of Schools and Colleges."

	SIGNATURE	DATE	ТО АДОРТ	TO NOT ADOPT	TO ABSTAIN
Senator Rory J. Respicio Chairperson	Via emai l	2/16/16 136 pm VIA cmail	~		
Senator Thomas C. Ada Vice-Chairperson					
Speaker Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D. Member	VIA CMAil	2/16/16 3:27 p.m via cmail			
Vice-Speaker Benjamin J.F. Cruz Member	via email	2/16/16 136 cmail	V		
Legislative Secretary Tina Rose Muña Barnes Member	VIA EMAIL	2/16/16 3:22 p.m Via cmail	r		
Senator Frank B. Aguon, Jr. Member					
Senator Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr. Member					*****
Senator Michael F.Q. San Nicolas Member		1		denne for standard before and a final density of the second second second second second second second second s	
Senator Nerissa B. Underwood, Ph.D. Member	Am	2/16/14	V		
Senator V. Anthony Ada Minority Leader	via curail	2/16/16 1:36pm Via email	~		
Senator Mary Camacho Torres Minority Member	via cutai/	2/16/16 2:56 pm Via carail	V	******	

For Sponsor's Office Use Only Ludron Sponsor Signature:_

Staff Contact Person: Anita Manibusan

Carlor of the second	For COR/Clerk's Office Use Only
	CritifiedReturned
and a state of the	Name: M
*********	Date: 2/17/14
~***********	Notes:

706 T20 7 A

Riv